brown eyes

is this what they mean when they say "in love"?
let me break it down-
i've had girls and boys,
some who i liked,
some who i loved.
but you-
oh, dearest.
there are not enough words;
correction,
there are no words
to describe you correctly.
i've tried, so i'll try again,
but if you read this,
know i could never find enough to say.

dearest,
you.
you're not like them.
you make my heart sing,
make my heart beat quicker for you.
you make the clouds clear,
the flowers blossom,
you take my pain out of my chest and brain
and turn it into a paper ball;
crumpled, tossed into the waste bin.
your smile lights up my darkest corners,
your voice turns on the air for my heat.
your touch ignites the flame within me,
and your words put me to rest.
i've sliced myself into shreds
but you've helped put me together.
if a bandage dare fell off,
you'd put on a new one, better.

when you are hurting, i wish i could hold you,
push back your hair and dry your tears.
i wish to hold your hand to affirm you'll get better,
but you're just my friend, so i know better.
when you're hurting,
oh, it hurts me too.
someone so divine as you
deserves nothing but the best.

so tell me, is this "love"?
is this what all the movies mean?
all the old people sat with their lovers,
scolding me over dried sponge cake?

if this is the love they assume i've never had,
i don't understand how they could fight their lover.
i can not fathom anything that would
dare
cause me to raise my voice,
or, worse, strike her.

she is my best friend.
she is my person.
she is my love.
she is my world.

and, despite all of the above,
we are separate entities,
floating through time and space,
together.

Leave a comment